Award Winners 22/23 – Lewes Community Football Club

Award Winners 22/23

Award Winners 22/23

Club news

Written by: Jack

It’s the end of another season at Lewes and after the Women’s game on Sunday, we were able to crown and announce all our award winners for both the Men’s and Women’s sides. 

First to be announced were the Owners’ Players of the Year. It was a close vote on both sides but picking up the titles were Ellie Mason and Joe Taylor!

Ellie has enjoyed a fantastic campaign which saw her transition from defence to attack and take the golden boot.

She took all the headlines in the Vitality Women’s FA Cup this season, firstly for her solo run from defence to score against London Bees in the Third Round, and then against Cardiff City in the Fifth Round in her first game as striker in which she struck four times.

For Joe Taylor, well he’s written his own headlines this season. 30 league goals and the most goals in all-competitions ever scored by a Lewes player in one season. Perhaps unsurprisingly,  he also claimed the Players’ Player and Manager’s Player of the season awards also.

On the Women’s side, the Players’ Player and Manager’s Player of the season awards both went into the safe hands of Sophie Whitehouse. Sophie has had an incredible season where she has really proved herself as one of the best in the league.

Voted for by the fans, the Goal of the Season was full of amazing efforts this year. Emily Kraft wins it for the Women for her incredible effort against the world’s best goalkeeper, Mary Earps, in the Quarter-Final of the FA Cup.

For the Men’s, it was the outrageous long-range effort from Ayo Olukoga against Bishop’s Stortford. And then, there was the Lewes Legend award, which was won by Laura Hartley and Bradley Pritchard.

Finally, there was deserved recognition for our Women’s captain, Rhian Cleverly, who was inducted into the Lewes FC Hall of Fame.

Quite simply, Rhian is Lewes. She leads this club on and off the pitch and sets an incredible example through her strong values.

During the awards, there was also deserved recognition for all of our amazing volunteers and the work they’ve put in on another season.

We also had to give thanks and goodbye to several staff members who are leaving the club. Our Financial Controller, Biram Desai, Facilities Manager, James Barker, and Women’s Performance Analyst, Adam Chilcott.

Lewes FC Award Winners 2022/23 

Owners’ Player of the Year: Ellie Mason
Players’ Player of the Year: Sophie Whitehouse
Manager’s Player of the Year: Sophie Whitehouse
Lewes Legend: Laura Hartley
Goal of the Season: Emily Kraft vs. Manchester United (Vitality Women’s FA Cup)
Golden Boot: Ellie Mason

Owners’ Player of the Year: Joe Taylor
Players’ Player of the Year:Joe Taylor
Manager’s Player of the Year: Joe Taylor
Lewes Legend: Bradley Pritchard
Goal of the Season: Ayo Olukoga vs. Bishop’s Stortford (Isthmian League)
Golden Boot: Joe Taylor

Photo Credit: James Boyes